Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

SCS Wednesday Wire

A weekly update from the SCS Dean’s Office

SCS NEWS  |  SCS EVENTS

TAKE THE SYMPTOM SURVEY DAILY  |  TAKE THE TARTAN TEST WEEKLY
All of us share A Tartan’s Responsibility. As members of the CMU community we must do our part to prevent the spread of COVID-19. 


April 7, 2021

SCS NEWS + AWARDS
— Congratulations to ISR Assistant Professor Fei Fang who received an award from the National Science Foundation to support her project, “CAREER: Integrating Machine Learning with Game Theory for Multiagent Communication and Coordination.” Fei’s research aims to design new game-theoretic models for multiagent communication and coordination with findings planned for application to wildlife protection and food bank operations.

Pranav Kumar (CSD) and William Zhang (ECE) were doing compiler research with CSD Associate Professor Seth Goldstein when they graduated last December. They continued to work together on a paper, Fast Structural Register Allocation, which they submitted to the Student Research Competition at the ACM’s International Symposium on Code Generation and Optimization (CGO) held earlier this year. Congratulations to Pranav and William for winning First Place Undergraduate Paper at CGO 2021!

— Two SCS juniors received the prestigious Barry Goldwater Scholarship for 2021. Arvind Mahankali and Jinhyung Park are among four CMU students, 51 mathematics and CS majors nationally and 410 students in the U.S. granted the scholarship, which is awarded to sophomores and juniors who show promise as leaders in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics. Congratulations, Arvind and Jinhyung!

TONIGHT!
— 7:30 p.m. – CMU’s Alumni Association Board and SCS invite you to a panel discussion and Q&A session on career paths, featuring five alums who work in diverse fields – from space exploration to finance. Register to receive the Zoom link.


TOMORROW
— Thursday, April 8, 4 p.m. – The SCS New Faculty Intro Series continues. Meet two new SCS faculty members, assistant professors from the HCII Sarah Fox and Ken Holstein, and learn more about their research. Be sure to register and plan to attend.

NEXT WEEK
— Wednesday, April 14, 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. CMU’s Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) will hold a virtual Town Hall meeting for SCS. VP for Research Michael McQuade will share more about CMU’s current research landscape along with updates about his vision for his office’s operations. Learn more and register to attend.

— Thursday, April 15, 2 p.m. – The SCS New Faculty Intro Series wraps up. Meet two new SCS faculty members, assistant professors from the HCII Alexandra Ion and David Lindlbauer, and learn more about their research. Be sure to register and plan to attend.

— Friday, April 16, 1 p.m. – Stand Up Against Street Harassment Training. This one-hour training provides a clear, adaptable and expert-approved set of tools that will help you be more prepared and safely intervene when you experience or witness harassment in public spaces. This training is for all members of the campus community, friends and family members.

ACCESS TO CAMPUS
— Accelerated vaccinating leads to questions about returning to campus. Up-to-date information for students, researchers, staff and faculty will always be available on the SCS Return to Campus page. On that site you’ll find links to relevant CMU information and email links to members of the SCS Back to Campus team. You can send questions to a team member, your department head, or Philip Lehman anytime.


Until next week,

---- Martial

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES
Connect with a Dean’s Advisory Committee if you have questions or concerns you want to share.
Connect with a representative leader from SCS Council if you’d like to submit a topic for Council to consider.
Coronavirus Updates & Information and FAQ  |  CMU Health Services, 412-268-2157
SCS Alerts & Resources  |  For Students   |  For Staff  |  For Faculty  |  For Researchers

 

April 7

March 31

March 24

March 17

March 10

March 3

February 24

February 17

February 10

February 3

January 27

January 20

January 13

 

Friday, December 18

Wednesday, December 16

Monday, December 14

Friday, December 11

Wednesday, December 9

Monday, December 7

Friday, December 4

Wednesday, December 2

Monday, November 30

Wednesday, November 25

Monday, November 23

Friday, November 20

Wednesday, November 18

Monday, November 16

Friday, November 13

Wednesday, November 11

Monday, November 9

Friday, November 6

Wednesday, November 4

Monday, November 2

Friday, October 30

Wednesday, October 28

Monday, October 26

Friday, October 23

Wednesday, October 21

Monday, October 19

Friday, October 16

Wednesday, October 14

Monday, October 12

Friday, October 9

Wednesday, October 7

Monday, October 5

Friday, October 2

Wednesday, September 30

Monday, September 28

Friday, September 25

Wednesday, September 23

Monday, September 21

Friday, September 18

Wednesday, September 16

Monday, September 14

Friday, September 11

Wednesday, September 9

Friday, September 4

Wednesday, September 2

Monday, August 31

Friday, August 28

Wednesday, August 26

Monday, August 24

Friday, August 21

Wednesday, August 19

Monday, August 17

Friday, August 14

Wednesday, August 12

Monday, August 10

Friday, August 7

Wednesday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Friday, July 31

Wednesday, July 29

Monday, July 27

Friday, July 24

Wednesday, July 22

Monday, July 20

Friday, July 17

Friday, July 10

Wednesday, July 8

Monday, July 6

Wednesday, July 1

Monday, June 29

Friday, June 26

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 17

Monday, June 15

Friday, June 12

Wednesday, June 10

Monday, June 8

Friday, June 5

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 1

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Saturday, March 21

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18