Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

SCS Wednesday Wire

An update from the SCS Dean’s Office (bi-weekly during Summer 2022)


 

June 29, 2022

June has been an eventful month, coupling good with challenging times. My most recent WEDNESDAY WIRE was a special edition to share programs and events that were planned in celebration of  Juneteenth. I hope you were able to participate. And before this month comes to a close, I want to wish “Happy Pride” to SCS’s LGBTQIA+ persons and allies. But amid June’s celebrations of diversity, the U.S. Supreme Court has been active prior to its summer recess. If you missed it, please take some time to read CMU President Farnam Jahanian’s letter to our community regarding last Friday’s controversial ruling.


SCS NEWS
— A horse, a zebra and artificial intelligence helped a team of Robotics Institute (RI) researchers teach a robot to recognize water and pour it into a glass.

— Researchers in the Institute for Software Research (ISR) found that Twitter is an effective way to attract more attention and contributors to open-source projects on GitHub.

— Also from the ISR, a team of researchers recently collaborated with colleagues at Wesleyan University to take a first pass at understanding toxicity on open-source platforms.

— A novel camera system developed in the RI can see sound vibrations with such precision and detail that it can reconstruct the music of a single instrument in a band or orchestra. The system uses two cameras and a laser to sense high-speed, low-amplitude surface vibrations. 


SIEBEL SCHOLARS NOMINATIONS ARE OPEN
— Nominations are being accepted until Friday, July 8 for the 2022 Siebel Scholars program. Scholars are selected based on academic excellence and leadership and awards are made without consideration of other funding a student may be receiving. See Zico Kolter’s recent email for more details. Each faculty advisor is asked to submit only one MS or Ph.D. student for consideration.


 Until July 13,
---- Martial

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES
Connect with a Dean’s Advisory Committee if you have questions or concerns you want to share.
Connect with a representative leader from SCS Council if you’d like to submit a topic for Council to consider.
Coronavirus Updates & Information and FAQs
SCS Alerts & Resources  |  For Students   |  For Staff  |  For Faculty  |  For Researchers

 

June 29

June 15

June 8

May 25

May 11

May 4

April 27

April 20

April 13

April 6

March 30

March 23

March 16

March 9

March 3

February 23

February 16

February 9

February 2

January 26

January 19

January 12

January 5

December 15

December 8

December 1

November 24

November 17

November 10

November 3

October 27

October 20

October 13

October 6

September 29

September 22

September 15

September 9

September 1

August 25

August 18

August 11

August 4

July 26

July 21

July 14

July 7

June 30

June 23

June 16

June 9

June 2

May 25

May 19

May 12

May 5

April 28

April 21

April 14

April 7

March 31

March 24

March 17

March 10

March 3

February 24

February 17

February 10

February 3

January 27

January 20

January 13

 

Friday, December 18

Wednesday, December 16

Monday, December 14

Friday, December 11

Wednesday, December 9

Monday, December 7

Friday, December 4

Wednesday, December 2

Monday, November 30

Wednesday, November 25

Monday, November 23

Friday, November 20

Wednesday, November 18

Monday, November 16

Friday, November 13

Wednesday, November 11

Monday, November 9

Friday, November 6

Wednesday, November 4

Monday, November 2

Friday, October 30

Wednesday, October 28

Monday, October 26

Friday, October 23

Wednesday, October 21

Monday, October 19

Friday, October 16

Wednesday, October 14

Monday, October 12

Friday, October 9

Wednesday, October 7

Monday, October 5

Friday, October 2

Wednesday, September 30

Monday, September 28

Friday, September 25

Wednesday, September 23

Monday, September 21

Friday, September 18

Wednesday, September 16

Monday, September 14

Friday, September 11

Wednesday, September 9

Friday, September 4

Wednesday, September 2

Monday, August 31

Friday, August 28

Wednesday, August 26

Monday, August 24

Friday, August 21

Wednesday, August 19

Monday, August 17

Friday, August 14

Wednesday, August 12

Monday, August 10

Friday, August 7

Wednesday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Friday, July 31

Wednesday, July 29

Monday, July 27

Friday, July 24

Wednesday, July 22

Monday, July 20

Friday, July 17

Friday, July 10

Wednesday, July 8

Monday, July 6

Wednesday, July 1

Monday, June 29

Friday, June 26

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 17

Monday, June 15

Friday, June 12

Wednesday, June 10

Monday, June 8

Friday, June 5

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 1

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Saturday, March 21

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18