Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

SCS Today

A M-W-F update from the SCS Dean’s Office

 

SCS TODAY: August 12, 2020
[A late-day M-W-F update from the SCS Dean’s Office]


WELCOME to all first-year undergraduate Computer Science majors! I’m proud and excited to have you join us in the School of Computer Science at CMU and I look forward to getting to know you during this academic year and the years ahead! For now, you’re receiving SCS TODAY on Monday, Wednesday and Friday afternoons via email. I hope you find these quick news/updates for everyone in SCS to be helpful and informative as you start your time with us and begin your college career.

ATTENTION FALL 2020 INSTRUCTORS
— If you’ll be teaching from campus this fall (e.g., in-person-plus-remote), plan to attend this Zoom session hosted by the Eberly Center and Computing Services to introduce you to standard classroom A/V and how-to steps for using it to enact a few key instructional scenarios.
Monday, August 17, 2 - 3 p.m., https://cmu.zoom.us/j/4122681112
While I encourage real-time attendance, the session will be recorded.
— Be sure to check out the Teaching Online and Hybrid Classrooms web sites, also prepared by Computing Services and the Eberly Center.

FOR ANYONE RETURNING TO CAMPUS
— NEW for students, faculty, researchers and staff: Daily Self-Assessment. Remember to complete the daily self-assessment (your Andrew ID is required) each day you plan to be on campus. Your privacy is assured; the university tracks log-ins to the assessment but your specific answers remain anonymous.

UNIVERSITY POLICY UPDATE
— An Interim Sexual Misconduct Policy is being adopted for the 2020-21 academic year, during which a full policy review process will occur to allow for community engagement and input prior to the adoption of a final policy.


Until Friday,
----- Martial



Connect with a Dean’s Advisory Committee if you have questions or concerns you want to share: https://scsdean.cs.cmu.edu/advisory-committees/

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES
SCS Alerts & Resources  |  For Students   |  For Staff  |  For Faculty  |  For Researchers
CMU Coronavirus Updates & Information and FAQ  |  CMU Health Services, 412-268-2157

 

 

Wednesday, August 12

Monday, August 10

Friday, August 7

Wednesday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Friday, July 31

Wednesday, July 29

Monday, July 27

Friday, July 24

Wednesday, July 22

Monday, July 20

Friday, July 17

Friday, July 10

Wednesday, July 8

Monday, July 6

Wednesday, July 1

Monday, June 29

Friday, June 26

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 17

Monday, June 15

Friday, June 12

Wednesday, June 10

Monday, June 8

Friday, June 5

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 1

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Saturday, March 21

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18