Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

SCS Today

A M-W-F update from the SCS Dean’s Office

 

October 21, 2020 
 

SCS NEWS
— Researchers from CMU's CREATE Lab have developed a guide that business accelerators and other organizations can use to help startups incorporate ethics into their business plans.

Five SCS seniors have been selected as Andrew Carnegie Society (ACS) Scholars for 2021, a program that recognizes academic excellence, volunteerism, leadership and involvement in student organizations, athletics or the arts.

— Congratulations to Fei Fang, assistant professor in the Institute for Software Research, recipient of the Leonardo Career Development Chair in the School of Computer Science.

— Congratulations to Henny Admoni, assistant professor in the Robotics Institute, recipient of the A. Nico Habermann Career Development Professorship in Computer Science.

NEXT WEEK
— Thursday, October 29, 2 – 3 p.m.: DARPA Subterranean (SubT) Challenge participants CMU and Oregon State University’s “Team Explorer” leaders will host a virtual Fall Update on their project. Team Explorer earned first and second place positions in the first two rounds of competition and is looking forward to a third and final year of the challenge with exciting technologies under development. Learn more and sign up to attend today.

LOOKING AHEAD
— November 1, 2 & 5: MOSAIC Annual Conference on Intersectionality; Redefine, Reprioritize and Reengage: Finding Humanity in a Post-Pandemic World. Learn more and register here.

Until Friday,
---- Martial

SCS NEWS  |  SCS EVENTS

 

Take CMU’s daily symptom self-assessment survey  |  Practice physical/social distancing   |  Keep your nose and mouth covered  |  Wash your hands frequently  |  Stay home when you are sick  |  Meet virtually when possible

All of us share A Tartan’s Responsibility and as members of the CMU community we must do our part to prevent the spread of COVID-19. If you plan to come to campus, you must complete the CMU Self-Assessment Survey. Even if you’re not coming to campus, CMU Community Health & Well-Being strongly encourages daily completion of the survey.

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES
CMU Coronavirus Updates & Information and FAQ  |  CMU Health Services, 412-268-2157
SCS Alerts & Resources  |  For Students   |  For Staff  |  For Faculty  |  For Researchers
Connect with a Dean’s Advisory Committee if you have questions or concerns you want to share.

Wednesday, October 21

Monday, October 19

Friday, October 16

Wednesday, October 14

Monday, October 12

Friday, October 9

Wednesday, October 7

Monday, October 5

Friday, October 2

Wednesday, September 30

Monday, September 28

Friday, September 25

Wednesday, September 23

Monday, September 21

Friday, September 18

Wednesday, September 16

Monday, September 14

Friday, September 11

Wednesday, September 9

Friday, September 4

Wednesday, September 2

Monday, August 31

Friday, August 28

Wednesday, August 26

Monday, August 24

Friday, August 21

Wednesday, August 19

Monday, August 17

Friday, August 14

Wednesday, August 12

Monday, August 10

Friday, August 7

Wednesday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Friday, July 31

Wednesday, July 29

Monday, July 27

Friday, July 24

Wednesday, July 22

Monday, July 20

Friday, July 17

Friday, July 10

Wednesday, July 8

Monday, July 6

Wednesday, July 1

Monday, June 29

Friday, June 26

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 17

Monday, June 15

Friday, June 12

Wednesday, June 10

Monday, June 8

Friday, June 5

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 1

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Saturday, March 21

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18