Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

SCS Wednesday Wire

An weekly update from the SCS Dean’s Office


 November 30, 2022

REMINDER: ATTEND VIRTUAL SCS TOWN HALLS LATER TODAY

4:30 - 5:30 p.m. SCS FACULTY & STAFF 
Submit questions/comments/suggestions: https://forms.gle/xGquoVNC1NK7UGFZ9
Check your email for Zoom information.

5:30 - 6:30 p.m. SCS STUDENTS
Submit questions/comments/suggestions: https://forms.gle/koYaq76Qq8zRR1Wx9 
Check your email for Zoom information. 


NOMINATIONS FOR CMU ALUMNI AWARDS
— If you’d like to nominate a CMU alum for a university alumni award, be sure to submit your nominations by December 4. Categories include Recent Alumni, Alumni Achievement and more. Contact Jenny Belardi with any questions. 


SCS NEWS
— Four SCS faculty members are part of a CMU team that received an NSF Future of Work grant to investigate how AI-augmented learning can help accelerate student progress in community college IT courses.

 New research from a team in the Machine Learning Department (MLD) shows which regions of the brain processed the meaning of combined words and how the brain maintained and updated the meaning of words.

— From the MLD Blog: Nihar Shah shares a post about a collaborative experiment with MLD faculty and Neural Information Processing Systems (NeurIPS) comparing the perceptions of research paper authors about their own papers with those of co-authors and final peer review decisions.


CONGRATULATIONS . . .
. . . to CMU's International Collegiate Programming Contest team of Zack Lee, Christopher Lambert and Andrew Yang who finished seventh and earned a silver medal in the final competition held earlier this month in Bangladesh.

. . . to the CMU Girls of Steel Robotics team who pitted their robot against 600 teams from more than 100 countries in the World Championships. Read more about the team's recent journey to the finals in The LINK, the magazine of SCS. Also, consider supporting the Girls of Steel during their pre-holiday candy sale fundraiser; orders can be placed through December 15.

. . . to Ph.D. students Kangle Deng (Robotics Institute) and Han Guo (Language Technologies Institute) who were selected for 2022 Microsoft Research Ph.D. Fellowships for their academic accomplishments and research initiatives.

. . . to Yang Zhang, a project scientist in the Computational Biology Department, who received a $25,000 grant from the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) for his project "Napari-Nucleome: Integrative Multi-Omic Exploration of the Cell Nucleus."

. . . to the Robotics Institute’s Kshitij Goel, Yves Georgy Daoud, Nathan Michael, and Wennie Tabib on their Best Paper Award at the IEEE International Symposium on Safety, Security, and Rescue Robotics (SSRR 2022). Their paper “Hierarchical Collision Avoidance for Adaptive-Speed Multirotor Tele-Operation” was selected out of 56 accepted papers.

. . . to Carnegie Autonomous Racing (CAR) and the AI Racing Tech Team on their second place finish at the Indy Autonomous Challenge earlier this month.

 

 Until next week,
---- Martial

 

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES
Connect with a Dean’s Advisory Committee if you have questions or concerns you want to share.
Connect with a representative leader from SCS Council if you’d like to submit a topic for Council to consider.
Coronavirus Updates & Information and FAQs
SCS Alerts & Resources  |  For Students   |  For Staff  |  For Faculty  |  For Researchers

 

November 30

November 16

November 9

November 2

October 26

October 19

October 12

October 5

September 28

September 21

September 14

September 7

August 24

August 10

July 27

July 13

June 29

June 15

June 8

May 25

May 11

May 4

April 27

April 20

April 13

April 6

March 30

March 23

March 16

March 9

March 3

February 23

February 16

February 9

February 2

January 26

January 19

January 12

January 5

December 15

December 8

December 1

November 24

November 17

November 10

November 3

October 27

October 20

October 13

October 6

September 29

September 22

September 15

September 9

September 1

August 25

August 18

August 11

August 4

July 26

July 21

July 14

July 7

June 30

June 23

June 16

June 9

June 2

May 25

May 19

May 12

May 5

April 28

April 21

April 14

April 7

March 31

March 24

March 17

March 10

March 3

February 24

February 17

February 10

February 3

January 27

January 20

January 13

 

Friday, December 18

Wednesday, December 16

Monday, December 14

Friday, December 11

Wednesday, December 9

Monday, December 7

Friday, December 4

Wednesday, December 2

Monday, November 30

Wednesday, November 25

Monday, November 23

Friday, November 20

Wednesday, November 18

Monday, November 16

Friday, November 13

Wednesday, November 11

Monday, November 9

Friday, November 6

Wednesday, November 4

Monday, November 2

Friday, October 30

Wednesday, October 28

Monday, October 26

Friday, October 23

Wednesday, October 21

Monday, October 19

Friday, October 16

Wednesday, October 14

Monday, October 12

Friday, October 9

Wednesday, October 7

Monday, October 5

Friday, October 2

Wednesday, September 30

Monday, September 28

Friday, September 25

Wednesday, September 23

Monday, September 21

Friday, September 18

Wednesday, September 16

Monday, September 14

Friday, September 11

Wednesday, September 9

Friday, September 4

Wednesday, September 2

Monday, August 31

Friday, August 28

Wednesday, August 26

Monday, August 24

Friday, August 21

Wednesday, August 19

Monday, August 17

Friday, August 14

Wednesday, August 12

Monday, August 10

Friday, August 7

Wednesday, August 5

Monday, August 3

Friday, July 31

Wednesday, July 29

Monday, July 27

Friday, July 24

Wednesday, July 22

Monday, July 20

Friday, July 17

Friday, July 10

Wednesday, July 8

Monday, July 6

Wednesday, July 1

Monday, June 29

Friday, June 26

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 17

Monday, June 15

Friday, June 12

Wednesday, June 10

Monday, June 8

Friday, June 5

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 1

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Saturday, March 21

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18